772532149570 - Struck Down - LP

Struck Down

Struck Down

The Fabulous Thunderbirds

SPLP1495 | Vinyl
In stock
772532149570 - Struck Down - LP

The Fabulous Thunderbirds is a familiar name for anyone into contemporary
blues and blues rock. This is the band that created classic albums likeT-Bird
Rhythm and Tuff Enuff, powered by hits like the title track and “Wrap It Up,”
Tuff Enuff went platinum, selling more than one million copies. Led by founding
member Kim Wilson, the Fabulous Thunderbirds have been nominated for
Grammy Awards six times and for Blues Music Awards more than 20 times.

Formed in 1974, the band celebrates their 50th anniversary with the release of
their first new studio album in eight years -Struck Down. Struck Down
features 9 original new songs co-written by Hamilton bluesman Steve
Strongman & Kim Wilson and a stellar cover of Memphis Minnie’s song
“Nothin’ in Ramblin. The album was produced by Kim Wilson, Steve
Strongman & Glen Parrish, recorded in New Jersey and Hamilton, and mixed
by Shelly Yakus (John Lennon/U2/Tom Petty). Guests include Billy Gibbons on
the first single “Payback Time”, and Bonnie Raitt, Taj Mahal, Keb’ Mo’ and
Mick Fleetwood on the sole cover song on the album, Memphis Minnie’s
“Nothing In Rambling.” Stand out tracks include the opening track “Struck
Down By The Blues” featuring Steve Strongman on guitar, the Cajun-flavored
“Don’t Make No Sense” featuring Terrance Simien on accordion, “Watcha Do
To Me” featuring Elvin Bishop, and the wistful closing track “Sideline.”

The band continues to tour internationally selling out venues and headlining festivals with
the current line-up of Kim Wilson on vocals and harmonica, Johnny Moeller on guitar,
Bob Welsh on keyboards & guitar, Rudy Albin on drums, and Steve Kirsty on bass.

Add to Wish List
You may also be interested in the following product(s) from the artist